DBS appoints industry veteran to board of directors

DBS Group Holdings (DBSH) has appointed banking and property stalwart Olivier Lim, 53, to the Boards of DBS Group Holdings and DBS Bank. His extensive experience in corporate and investment banking, risk management and real estate will complement and strengthen the overall composition of the DBS Boards.

Between 2003 and 2014, Lim served in CapitaLand Limited’s senior management team in various capacities, including as group deputy chief executive officer, group chief investment officer and group chief financial officer. He was named CFO of the Year in the Business Times Singapore Corporate Awards 2007.

Prior to CapitaLand, he spent 13 years at Citibank Singapore with its corporate and investment bank, including as head of the real estate unit.

Lim has extensive board experience over the years, and is currently non-executive chairman of Certis CISCO Security Pte. Ltd., Frasers Property Australia Pty Ltd and globalORE Pte Ltd. He also sits on the Boards of Raffles Medical Group and Banyan Tree Holdings Limited. He is a member of the Board of JTC Corporation, the Board of Governors of Northlight School, and the Advisory Board of the Institute for Societal Leadership at the Singapore Management University.

A civil engineer by training, Lim holds a First Class Honours degree in Civil Engineering from Imperial College, London. He attended Harvard Business School’s Advanced Management Programme in 2007.

Peter Seah, chairman of DBSH and DBS Bank, says, "I join my fellow directors in welcoming Olivier to the boards. Olivier’s solid credentials as a banker, hands-on experience in the property sector, and board-level exposure to diverse industries make him a strong addition to the DBS Board. His strong financial and risk management background is invaluable as DBS continues to transform ourselves digitally and expand our franchise regionally in a fast-changing world.”

With Lim’s appointment, DBSH Board of Directors now comprises 10 members. They are:

• Peter Seah Lim Huat - chairman
• Piyush Gupta - chief executive officer
• Bart Broadman
• Euleen Goh
• Ho Tian Yee
• Nihal Kaviratne
• Olivier Lim
• Ow Foong Pheng
• Andre Sekulic
• Danny Teoh